Random Rant and other things….

I want my mummy! I really miss our noisemaking and the bear, sound effected hugs…speaking on the phone just isn’t the same. I know I pro’ly sound 5 years old…well yeah! home sickness does that to you.I miss my daddy too…and our comfortable silence and how often he affirms me…I miss my sister a LOT! The inside jokes, the laughs and silliness we share…ok…now i’m welling up but I won’t cry because I’m a ninja…to say the truth I don’t cry easily these days…and thats a huge plus because rather than make me feel better my tears used to frustrate me…

Eldy is muddy and rainy and yucky a lot of the time but I still wouldn’t trade it. I’m settled in now and have already started doing grown up things like paying bills.. then yesterday I had my water disconnected. Illegal connection…turns out I didnt even have a water meter in the first place.. a convo I had had with both the landlady and the caretaker…who both told me…aaah usijali bado iko negative… they had overpaid last month yada yada…. my water had better be reconnected by the time I get home or someone will know Kungu fu panda personally today.

Last week I fell off a boda boda. Laugh(I laughed too) but do not tell my mother. Please. She will absolutely die. It was muddy and yucky and I was in a skirt. The bodaa guy gave me a lecture while I was still on the ground…he said unaona!! ni hiyo uoga yako! Mimi sijaanguka. Really…uoga yangu got my elbow grazed? Oh well… He didn’t apologize until I told him I wouldn’t give him his 40 bob. Men around here aren’t very….gentle. I think they’re cultured that way. I would tell you that I will never get on a boda boda again but last Sunday the pastor was on that fire and brimstone vibe…lying is bad. I don’t want to burn. Burns hurt way more than falls.

Speaking of Church… It is the ONE THING I look forward to the most here. I love, love Sirikwa Pentecostal Fellowship. Its a blessing and the guy on the keyboard is a looker! haha! I thank God for it.

Last Friday I got “blackforest” cake as a thank you gift. It was mostly Blueband for cream and really hard cake but it was alright and it really warmed my heart. Eldoret is chilly…anything that gives warmth is delightful and welcome.

Yesterday I got offered and turned down yet another job…in Nairobi. Gave me a high all morning. My Jehova knows how to make me smile.

When I grow up I want to be a Judge. They’ve been on summer vacation since the start of this month…up till the middle of September! Summer vacay without a teachers pay! Oh the luxury! And just the perks in general….man! When I grow up, I want to be a judge.

I am staring at a heap of files and because I can’t wish them away I should get to work soon. I’m bored today….if you have a really good ear…you can hear it on this post. Wandering off for lunch first… I think I’ll have fries with looootttsss of ketchup….nice and fattening. I’ve been trying to gain some weight since I came to Eld but its not happening. My friends hate me when I say this. They think I am mocking them. I’m not… I wouldn’t mind a bit of bulge around the hips but then I watched Slimpossible last Friday and I said a silent prayer of gratitude and repentance. The price is too steep. Humiliation, panting sweating and frying with water in the place of oil?

I do not want to be fat.

Leave a comment